Search This Blog

Saturday, February 4, 2012

Grand Theft Auto III Lips 106 & Head Radio Soundtracks

There have been a few soundtrack releases for Grand Theft Auto III over the years, but they've been pretty limited. Most of them have been samplers or different selections of radio stations. The latest releases are a different story. On December 1, 2011, Rockstar Games put out two GTAIII soundtracks, Grand Theft Auto III: Music from Lips 106 and Grand Theft Auto III: Music from Head Radio on iTunes for $2.99 each. Each album contains each respective radio station's song selection. If you can't remember the songs that were on these two stations, here's the breakdown.

1. Feels Like I Just Can't Take No More
2. Pray It Goes OK?
3. Grand Theft Auto
4. Bump to the Music
5. Rubber Tip
6. Forever
7. Wash Him Off

1. Change
2. Fade Away
3. Life Is But A Mere Supply 
4. Stripe Summer
5. See Through You
6. Electronic Go Go
7. Good Thing

There's no DJ chatter to interrupt the flow of the music on either of these albums. On top of that, these albums are completely uncensored, meaning those F-bombs in Grand Theft Auto and Life Is But a Mere Supply are present and accounted for. Fun fact: the track Grand Theft Auto was also in the very first Grand Theft Auto, completely unedited. 

While GTAIII's soundtrack may seem slim compared to it's successor, it was still a fine soundtrack and to my knowledge, all of the game's music was done from the ground up. From Grand Theft Auto: Vice City and onward, all console GTAs would use licensed music, which wasn't bad by any means, but it would be nice to see some more originality in the GTA audio department. 

With each album selling for $2.99, Rockstar is practically giving these things away. Here's to hoping the rest of GTAIII's radio stations get released.

No comments: